top of page

About Us

Our objectives:

  • To raise awareness of the health effects associated with a working environment.

  • Promote the science of occupational hygiene as an entity within the broad area of occupational safety and health in Ireland.

  • Provide a forum for the exchange of information and updating of current developments in
    occupational hygiene.

  • Organise scientific meetings on specific subject areas


Our History

Untitled design_edited.jpg

The Occupational Hygiene Society of Ireland (OHSI) was formed in 1986. Its membership comprises broad interest group including occupational hygienists, occupational physicians, scientists and occupational health and safety practitioners.


The Society provides a consultative forum for the exchange of information and ideas for the control of occupational ill health.


The Society is a member of the International Occupational Hygiene Association (IOHA) whose function is to promote and develop occupational hygiene through out the world, promote the exchange of occupational hygiene information, to encourage the development of occupational hygiene and ensure a high ethical standard in occupational hygiene.


The IOHA has members in 35 countries worldwide.

Our current council members:

  • Nuala Flavin (Hon.President)

  • Shara Smith (Hon. Vice President)

  • Edel Costello (Secretary)

  • Claire Tully-Farrell (Membership Secretary) 

  • Eoin Collins (Treasurer)

  • Frances Wright

  • Geraldine Lenehan

  • Jacinta Byrne

  • Anne Moore (Immediate Past President)

  • Alison Connolly

Untitled design_edited.jpg

Our Constitution

Please click to view our constitution

bottom of page